top of page

Darkthrone began life in the late 80s as a thrash/death metal act and progressed through technical death/doom metal experimentation to become legends of the black metal world and one of the original leading bands of the Norwegian scene, as well as inspiring a whole generation of metal bands.

"Under A Funeral Moon", Darkthrone's third album, was originally released by Peaceville in 1993. The album is a bleak reflection of contemporary times, featuring harsh guitar riffage and hateful vocals in what was the band's first 100% pure black metal opus; a work completely stripped of the death metal traces of former releases and in its place, a stark and primitive execution. This was aided by an intentionally lo-fi sound that is powerfully cold and entirely unconcerned with any modern-day aesthetics.

"Under A Funeral Moon" is the album that many Darkthrone fans hail as the ultimate manifesto for Black Metal.


1. Natassja In Eternal Sleep
2. Summer of the Diabolical Holocaust
3. The Dance of Eternal Shadows
4. Unholy Black Metal
5. To Walk the Infernal Fields
6. Under a Funeral Moon
7. Inn I de Dype Skogers Favn
8. Crossing the Triangle of Flames

About this product: this reissue is pressed on 180g black vinyl, housed in a gatefold sleeve.

Darkthrone - Under A Funeral Moon LP

    bottom of page