top of page

Metallica" (commonly known as "The Black Album") is the fifth studio album by American heavy metal band Metallica, released on August 12, 1991 through Elektra Records.

It was recorded in an eight-month span at One on One Recording Studios in Los Angeles. The recording of the album was troubled, however, and during production the band frequently came into conflict with their new producer, Bob Rock. The album marked a change in the band's sound from the thrash metal style of the previous four albums to a slower and heavier style.

Metallica promoted the album with a series of tours. They also released five singles to promote the album: Enter SandmanThe UnforgivenNothing Else MattersWherever I May Roam and Sad but True, all of which have been considered to be among the band's best-known songs. The song Don't Tread on Me was also issued to rock radio shortly after the album's release but did not receive a commercial single release.


1. Enter Sandman
2. Sad but True
3. Holier Than Thou
4. The Unforgiven
5. Wherever I May Roam
6. Don't Tread on Me
7. Through the Never
8. Nothing Else Matters
9. Of Wolf and Man
10. The God That Failed
11. My Friend of Misery
12. The Struggle Within


About this product: this is available on 2LP formats.

The 2LP is pressed on 180g black vinyl, housed in a widespine matt sleeve with a lyrics insert.

Metallica - The Black Album (Remastered) LP

    bottom of page